Otago

Sep 1, 2017 to Oct 27, 2017
11:59PM
Dunedin Public Art Gallery
Otago

Moving Image Proposals for 2018:
The Gallery is excited to announce a new direction for its Rear Window programme. From February 2018, the space will be furnished with a 75” screen showcasing a programme of moving image works from emerging and established practitioners.
We are inviting artists to submit proposals for new or existing film and video works to be included in this programme.

Applications open: 1 September 2017
Applications close: 27 October 2017
Notifications will be made by 10th November 2017

Aug 30, 2017 to Sep 23, 2017
Blue Oyster Art Project Space
Otago

Generation Housing NZ
Cora-Allan Wickliffe and Daniel Twiss
30 August 2017 - 23 September 2017

Opening Preview: Tuesday 29 August, 5:30pm

Artist talk: Wednesday 30 August, 12-2pm

Jul 5, 2017 to Jul 29, 2017
Blue Oyster Art Project Space
Otago

Big Sacred Technologies
Samuel Jackson
Wednesday 5 July – Saturday 29 July 2017

Opening Preview | Tuesday 4 July, 5:30pm
Free to attend, all welcome

Artist talk | Wednesday 5 July, 12noon

'Big Sacred Technologies' seeks to consecrate objects and technologies that predict the future (or futures). All the while encompassing the sacredness of the aesthetic, affect and use of contemporary surveillances within technological and cyber networks.

Jun 10, 2017 to Jul 1, 2017
Blue Oyster Art Project Space
Otago

A Shelter for Amnesic Relatives
Ammon Ngakuru

Saturday 10 June – Saturday 1 July
Opening Preview: Friday 9 June, 5.30pm
Artist talk: Saturday 10 June, 12noon

A Shelter for Amnesic Relatives considers the safe room, a space common in American survivalist culture and online discourse. As a thoroughly private form of shelter, the safe room is meant as a refuge from a future or perpetually imminent external threat or catastrophe—a space intentionally closed off from the outside world, and a means of escape.

Apr 5, 2017 to Apr 29, 2017
Blue Oyster Art Project Space
Otago

To watch, with your mind’s eye, the world floating quiet
Becky Richards
Wednesday 5 April – Saturday 29 April 2017

Opening preview | Tuesday 4 April, 5:30pm
Free to attend, all welcome

Becky Richards | Artist talk
Wednesday 5 April, 12–1pm
Free to attend, all welcome

Around roundness.

Mar 21, 2017
11:00AM
Blue Oyster Art Project Space
Otago

To watch, with your mind’s eye, the world floating quiet | A call out for co-creators

Sunday 2 April, 11am – 4pm
Free to attend, all welcome, suitable for all ages

Mar 18, 2017
2:00PM
Petridish, 8 Stafford Street, Dunedin
Otago
Mar 8, 2017 to Apr 1, 2017
Blue Oyster Art Project Space
Otago

Confessions of a teenage afakasi
Faith Wilson
Wednesday 8 March – Saturday 1 April

Opening Preview: Tuesday 7 March, 5:30pm
Free to attend, all welcome

My Journey to Perfection
Thursday 16 March, 6pm | Friday 17 March, 6pm
Free to attend, all welcome
presented as part of Dunedin Fringe Festival

Feb 25, 2017
3:00PM
Blue Oyster Art Project Space
Otago

Blind Jam #2

Motoko Kikkawa and guests
Saturday 25 February, 3–4pm

Free to attend, all welcome

Join us for the second Blind Jam by Motoko Kikkawa alongside her current exhibition, Shortsighted Girl's Very Thick Wall.

Paying tribute to her long standing relationship with Dunedin sound, Kikkawa invites local collaborators; sonic artists, musicians and producers, to play blindfolded via experimental improvisation among her artworks.

Motoko's current exhibition, Shortsighted Girl's Very Thick Wall runs until Saturday 4 March.

Feb 1, 2017 to Mar 4, 2017
Blue Oyster Art Project Space
Otago

Shortsighted Girl's Very Thick Wall
Motoko Kikkawa
Wednesday 1 February – Saturday 4 March 2017

Opening Preview and Blind Jam #1: Tuesday 31 January, 5.30pm
Free to attend, all welcome

Blind Jam #2: Saturday 25 February, 3–4pm
Free to attend, all welcome

Join us to celebrate the opening of Blue Oyster's 2017 programme of exhibitions and events with a solo commission by Dunedin based artist Motoko Kikkawa.

Pages