E-book: The Time of the Now

CIRCUIT is proud to present The Time of the Now e-book. 118 pages of interviews, presentations and discussion from the 2018 CIRCUIT Symposium. Free to download from the CIRCUIT website.

Featuring contributions from; Dr. Fiona Amundsen, Dr. Erika Balsom, Stephanie Beth, Stephen Cleland, Cushla Donaldson, Ioana Gordon-Smith, Dr. David Hall, Becky Hemus, Dieneke Jansen, Moya Lawson, Nova Paul, Dr. Janine Randerson, Natalie Robertson, Dr. Alan Wright, James Wylie.

Get it here:

The Time of the Now was conceived and presented by CIRCUIT in partnership with the Document Research Group at Auckland University of Technology (AUT), and invited responses to the following questions around ‘truth’, representation and artist practice;

What strategies do contemporary artists employ to test media representation of reality and the means through which we channel and consume it? How do artists expand the documentary form through various material processes and formal strategies? How do artists deconstruct the surfeit of images we already have and the means by which we receive them? Can 'truth' and fiction exist in the same space? What historical artworks could be part of a revised genealogy of current documentary practices in Aotearoa New Zealand? How could an ethic of care, as understood through sustained relationships with Indigenous and diverse communities be played out through documentary practices?

Designed by Callum Devlin, The Time of the Now e-book is CIRCUIT’s second e-publication. Featuring dialogue with some of Aotearoa’s leading academics and artists we hope that it serves to circulate the conversations beyond the room.

“…what has been happening today across some of the presentations is the articulation of a vision of what documentary could or should be, or how it could relate to an audience. That doesn’t always happen. In fact, it often doesn’t happen.” - Dr. Erika Balsom

Many thanks to our partners at AUT, Govett Brewster Art Gallery/Len Lye Centre, The Audio Foundation and City Gallery Wellington. Special thanks to Erika Balsom.