Martin Sagadin

The Short Trilogy of Peace (2016)

50 minSingle channel / Digital Video / Colour / Sound

The Short Trilogy of Peace includes three short films, Moved Twice, Up Further, and Until Then, that were produced between 2012 and 2016.

Filmed through a silk filter, a static camera observes the activity of a factory, a home, landscapes, and the care and rest of an elderly person. Textures and small details are highlighted—sunlight on a flower, flecks on a window, water lapping against a rock—but the camera also pulls back to show a stilled work place and the wide horizon over the ocean.

Filmed between Ōtautahi and Sagadin's hometown of Kranj in Slovenia, the mood of the films is patient and observational; at time, the silk filter gives the scenes a painterly effect, as if they have been diffused by brushstrokes.

Sagadin has commented that the technical limitations they had at the time contributed to the production process.

"All of the parameters were designed around the limitations that I had at the time. So, the stillness of the camera was to do with the fact that I didn't have a good way of stabilising it yet. Gymbals weren't invented for example yet. And the camera that I had... which at the time was a low-end DSLR... the movement in those, I wasn't such a fan of, because of aberrations that were created by movement..."

—Martin Sagadin

Other works by Martin Sagadin

CIRCUIT is the
leading voice
for artist moving image
in Aotearoa New Zealand,
distributing works,
critical review and
which reflect our unique, contemporary
South Pacific context.